Our History

A tradition of several generations

Prof. Dr. Eduardo Jiménez de Aréchaga

Professor Eduardo Jiménez de Aréchaga founded Jiménez de Aréchaga Law Firm in 1942. He was the successor of an exceptional lineage of three generations of jurists, also tenured professors of International Public Law at the School of Law, University of the Republic of Uruguay.

Specializing in International Public Law, Professor Eduardo Jiménez de Aréchaga was selected through public examination to be Chair of this subject in the School of Law. He was a member of the UN International Law Commission (Geneva, 1961-1969), judge and president of the International Court of Justice in The Hague (1970-1979) and president of the World Bank Administrative Tribunal (1981-1987); he also served as member to several international arbitration tribunals.

Esc. Héctor A. Viana

Graduated from the School of Law, University of the Republic of Uruguay, in 1933, Héctor A. Viana founded his notary’s office and specialized in Family Law.

In 1960, with the incorporation of Héctor Viana Martorell, Attorney-at-Law, the Firm enlarged its scope to juridical activities and achieved renowned prestige in civil litigation as it won major court rulings that generated changes in current positive law.